12 Miles to Bull Durham

Posted on December 22, 2012

0


Go Bulls!

Go Bulls!

Tobacco Campus Mall

Tobacco Campus Mall

Are those new headphones?

Are those new headphones?

It wasn't me

It wasn’t me

I have to admit that last week, when I was staring down 11 miles, I was intimidated.  I was intimidated the whole week long just thinking about it.  10 was a challenge, so one more mile might kick my bottom dollar.  And, not gonna lie, it kind of did.  However, for some reason, I wasn’t afraid of today’s 12 miles.  And it was easy, and fun and exhilarating!  What was the difference? Let’s break it down:

  • Music
  • Morning
  • Great night’s sleep
  • Cashews
  • The Durham Bulls

Music- Thanks to a cold day and my trusty super thick headband that acts like earmuffs, I was able to wear some of the classic white headphones with my iphone.  I haven’t been listening to any music on my runs for months, since my dog ate my headphones.  I LOVED my Sennhauser floating neckband headphones, and they lasted me ten years of running bliss.  Today’s rigging wasn’t a perfect setup, but I managed most of my run today without much slippage, and enjoyed near two hours of Flogging Molly (thanks to my friend Scott’s Spotify app recommendation.) I gotta say, it really did make a difference, and I still enjoyed the nature-iffic out of doors.

Morning- We had a big Christmas dinner with our friends who will be out of town for the big day, and there was a little bit of vodka.  I went to bed a touch earlier than expected, and I slept like a rock.  I am sure of the depth of this sleep because of another new app I am obsessed with called Sleep Cycle.  It tracks your sleep patterns and then adds your data to Runkeeper (yes, another app.)  All of this data puts me into a state of nerd euphoria, which I think is something most runners can relate to, we’re a super nerdy bunch.  I hadn’t decided if I was going to run at noon, or head out first thing in the am (which is ambitious for me.) When I woke up, I felt like a million bucks.  I immediately went out on the porch, brrr, and came back in and suited up.  The best twelve mile run is the one you just finished, so getting it done in the front of the day gave me a big head start, and I felt really full of energy.

Cashews- I have often wondered what exactly I’m going to snack on during long runs as a WFPB (Whole Foods Plant Based) eater, it kind of leaves the Gu out of the equation, and I’m not sure carrying apples and bananas is going to be practical.  I didn’t want to stuff myself with a big breakfast, thank goodness for the huge dinner lastnight!  So I ate about three cashews, a small square of fudge, a banana and a cup of coffee.  I grabbed my small water bottle and stuffed a little handful of cashews in my pocket.  I’ve run with the water for the past three distance runs, and even though I don’t need it til around mile 8, I really need it then.  I have been hitting a wall at the eight mile mark, and have been thinking that I need a little fuel. I don’t feel hungry, I just feel “out of gas.” So I grabbed the cashews as energy insurance and headed right out.  By the end of the run, I’d only had about half my water and four or five cashews, but they really saved the day.

All in all, I am feeling much more confident about the future of my training.  I’ve never doubted I could do it, but I am glad my spirits are lifted about the work involved!  I think I have passed the hump where I look at more mileage like a burden, and I can now look at it as almost a gift.  I don’t have much personal time in my life (hardly any at all!) being a full-blown stay at home Mom with two little ones and two crazy dogs needing most of what I’ve got.  So I really love my runs and look forward to each extra mile as that much more “me time.” And today’s run gave me a great big present, by the way, I finally ran all the way to the trail head in Downtown Durham!  It ends right at the stadium of the Famous Durham Bulls. Awe. Some.

Happy Running Everyone!

