October Weigh In

Posted on October 1, 2013

0


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hello Fall! Every runner’s favorite time of year.  The sun is still shining, the pollen is down, the runs are cooler, the times are faster, and it’s the time of year where being outside makes you feel great to be alive.  I used to be a Summer girl for the majority of my life, but these days, I embrace the breezy orange-tinged out of doors and the smell of wood burning in fireplaces (I may be getting ahead of myself a little, but I can almost smell it!).

I am mid-training for marathon number two, and I am happy to report that my times have significantly shortened for my runs.  I owe it to a few things: maybe it’s the cooler weather, maybe it’s the training runs on Wednesday night with the Bull City Runners (they’re SO FAST!), maybe it’s my conditioning from my kettlebell class, and maybe it’s from my new “training lite” concept I’ve been doing this go round. Whatever it is, I am not complaining, and I feel so happy when I run.

I’d like this marathon to be a PR, for I am only doing one more after this one which I plan to train and run at a relaxed pace,  and then I’ll happily retire back to half marathon land.  My first was a decent time for my expectations, but why not try to beat it?  It’s my only goal for this race- beat my first time.  After that, running is for fun.  Of course, what’s more fun than beating your own personal record?

Here are the weigh in stats for my current month; I have been training less but better, and my diet has been about 90% fantastic.  I cannot complain.

Here’s the Phyical Stats:                    from last mo.                total change

Height                                 5’6”

Weight                               141.5 lbs              -3 lbs.                           – 14 lbs

Bust (ribcage)                    33”                        +0.5″                             –.5 ”

Bust (full)                            37”                       +1.5″                              – 4.5”

Waist (naval)                      29.5″                        +.5                             –4.5”

Waist (beltline)                   33”                            +1″                             –4.5”

Hips                                    37.5″                          -.5”                             –3.5″

Thigh                                   22.5”                          +.5″                            – 2.0″

Bicep                                   10.5″                          0″                                 -0.5″

Calf                                      14″                             0″                               0″

BMI*                                   22.8                         -0.6                                -2.3

We missed a few months where I was pretty consistently weighing in at around 145.  Now I’ve dropped a few from that plateau, but it looks like that’s around where I’ll be living, even in non-marathon training mode.  I haven’t seen a 3 in the second digit of my weight for over ten years, so if I see it, great, I am pretty close, but I also don’t really care.  “Skinny” is not my goal, nor is a number, but I do like my data.  I want to be strong, healthy, fit, and agile.  I want to make younger girls look forward to forty like it is the most awesome age a woman can be. I am also currently looking for role models in the 60+ group so that I can aim my sights, this Grand Old Year Of Forty experiment is dangerously close to it’s conclusion!

If you aren’t running right now, I strongly encourage you to begin this very week. It is the most glorious time of year to be inhaling and exhaling the fresh air as you feel the wind in your hair.  I can’t imagine not having this retreat in my life, you deserve it too!

Happy Running out there!

